Skip to content

Escape

March 12, 2011

So I decided to set ten minutes on the timer and type whatever came to my head, a sort of freestyle; and heres what I ended up with:

Take me away.  Anywhere but here, that’s where I want to be.  Walking the streets aimlessly at stupid-o-clock at night; everything looks so different in the dark.  The cars with their bright headlights look phantom-like and I stare at them and wonder where they’re heading.  People passing me by look secretive, some in a rush, some walking like their being replayed in slow-motion mode.  The rain comes down not in drops but in a hazy spray of minute particles.  Things lack clarity.

Now I’m turning a corner into Unknown Street.  Attempting to avoid stepping on the cracks in the dark is an impossible task; I’ve stepped on 4 already.  If I’ve stepped on an even number by the time I reach the end of the road, I will turn left, if I end up with an odd number I will turn right.  Am I getting further?  Red phantom car why are you slowing down?  Please keep driving I do not wish to communicate at this point in time.

Take me away.  I end up at the same spot as always; in between the pages and amongst line after line of words.  They draw me in and take me away; give me a new realty, and suck me into another dimension.  I am invisible, I watch characters and their lives, I hear conversations, and I witness murders.  My physical shell remains in the world but my inner self passes the barrier into this new dimension of words, and there I stay until the words run out.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 10:49 am

    Wow!!! 😮 *gasps*

  2. March 16, 2011 10:38 pm

    That’s fantastic. I may have to try this excercise and see what I come up with.

Leave a Reply

