Skip to content

Her struggle

April 20, 2011

My window is like a portal to another dimension, it provides me with in-depth analysis of observations conducted on the world directly outside my house.  Looking out of my window I see a small field placed randomly in the middle of a square of fifty houses.  Around this field runs the square outline of a road; the road cuts through the middle of the field and provides an exit from the secluded bubble of an area that I live in.

I see her outside struggling every day.  I don’t look out of the window at specific times of the day, it’s a completely random occurrence, yet I manage to see her outside regardless of the time.  She is in her eighties perhaps; she wears the same thick jumper over her clothes everyday despite the recent warm temperatures. She walks on the edge of the field near the road that runs through the middle.  She walks up and down the field, every step she takes requires the majority of her strength – I can tell from her posture and the way she takes her steps.  She looks more like a wounded soldier desperately trying to reach home before the wounds worsen than an elderly lady taking a walk in the sunshine; the process appears to be agonizing for her.  After every few steps she grabs hold of the wooden fencing around the field; sometimes she starts to double over and on these occasions she sits on the fence clutching it tightly; she remains there for a few minutes and then continues her painful walk.   Bewildered, I wonder why she continues to do this every day when it clearly causes her pain.

So today I decided to step outside and talk to her.  I learnt that she lives with her son and daughter-in-law around the corner; they don’t seem to pay her much attention.  She tells me she has chronic pain and she feels like her legs are about to give up.  I learn that she walks daily because she doesn’t want to lose the mobility she has – even though walking is extremely painful for her.

Why did I just write about her?  Well, I’ve been lucky enough to come into contact with a few people in my life that have changed the way I look at life, some have been a wake-up call.  She’s a perfect example of pure determination and strength; despite everything she carries on fighting.  Watching her just reinforced the realisation that giving up is never the answer regardless of the difficulty of the situation; we need more people with determination like hers.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 5:52 am

    wonderful post , this! Im glad you talked to her. Her determination is admirable in the face of pain and lonleyness. But as you said, giving up is never a wise option.

    • April 20, 2011 8:10 pm

      I’m glad I talked to her too! Remember the post I did on the elderly lady in the coffee shop? Well I’ve regretted not talking to her ever since so I definitely wasn’t going to let this one go :mrgreen:

  2. April 20, 2011 5:24 pm

    This is a beautiful piece of writing and at first I wondered where you were going with the story but you soon made your point and the old lady’s struggle to keep her mobility is really inspiring. It is true…giving up is never the best option. x

    • April 20, 2011 8:08 pm

      Yep she really is inspiring, never thought looking out of my window randomly would teach me so much 🙂

  3. April 20, 2011 8:49 pm

    I may try it next time i am near a window and see what I can learn 🙂

  4. April 22, 2011 12:14 am

    I like this story. You run into some interesting people.

Leave a Reply

